Stories and Songs from the Beginning of the World

Every time the performer Cameron McCarthy tells the story of his people, he first paints his body. This tells you about the land, the traditions the Aboriginal people hold most sacred, and about his people–the Kuku-Yalanji people in the Daintree Rainforest region of Queensland, Australia. When he dances, each step and each movement ties him and the audience to a culture that is more than 50,000 years old.

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 9.51.01 AM

For thousands of years, my people have danced. The dance transforms me. Through its motions and through the images I paint on my body, I become my ancestors. I become part of the land.

Screen Shot 2016-01-22 at 9.51.20 AM.png

Cameron McCarthy will share his stories and history in a special presentation for families on Saturday, January 30, 10am – 11am, Moran Hall, Houston Museum of Natural Science.

For more information, call 832.634.6344 or visit aia-houston.com

AIA-Houston is grateful to Schlumberger for their generous support. In addition, we also extend thanks the Australian Chamber of Commerce and the Houston Perth Sister City Alliance.  

